DCA provides protective services to consumers and also protects licensed professionals from unfair competition by unlicensed companies and organizations (Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, 2007). Companies and individuals, which fall under the jurisdiction of the DCA, are security guards, alarm companies, locksmiths, and private investigators. The DCA monitors any violations of California rules and regulations that pertain to these occupations. The state of California has some of the strictest guidelines for security personnel, companies, and organizations.
The state requirements for a security guard are as follows: he or she must receive eight hours of training and instruction on “Power to Arrest” training and also pass a state examination. The security professional is required to complete an additional 32 hours of training and instruction within their first six months. Following the first eight hours of instruction a person who has passed the power to arrest examination can apply for a state security guard card. This can be done online for a fee of $51 with an additional fee of $49. 0 for a finger print processing and Federal Bureau of Investigations fingerprint processing services. In the state of California a person who wishes to get his or her security guard card must be at least 18 undergo a history background check, and complete the required 40 hours of required training (Security Guard Fact Sheet, 2012). The training to receive a state issued security guard card does not include firearm, tear gas, and baton permits. These permits require additional fees, training, and qualifications.
The state of California has some of the strictest penalties for violations of these regulations, individuals, and companies that operate without the California mandated licensing could be subject to criminal penalties and civil liability. Companies that to perform any type of uniformed or plainclothes security functions and investigative services in the state of California must acquire a Private Patrol Operator license (PPO). The requirements for an PPO include the requirements for a guard card however; the fee is $700 for a company license fee.
Before applying the company must provide proof of a one million dollar insurance policy. The policy must be divided in half, on portion for injury or destruction of property and the other for bodily harm or death. The person or persons applying for this license must be at least 18 and must have 2,000 hours of guard experience or the equivalent of. This person or persons are also required to pass a two-hour examination that covers the Private Security Services Act and other regulations such as safety and emergency procedures. There are some exemptions for security personnel in the state of California.
Law enforcement officers may perform security guard duties while off-duty from their law enforcement agency. The personnel are not required to possess a guard card during their duties as a security guard. Law enforcement personnel may be armed if he or she receives written permission from their law enforcement employer. If this permission is not given the law enforcement officer may obtain an exposed firearm permit from the state, which will allow him or her to carry an exposed weapon while off-duty and working as a security guard.
The state of California has some of the strictest regulations for security guard professionals and companies. There are not many exemptions to these regulations and violations carry a hefty fine and suspension of licensing. The state of California imposes these strict regulations to protect consumers and licensed professionals from unfair labor and illegal criminal acts by unlicensed people and companies. These rules help make the security professionals in the state of California maintain high standards and by ensure that the security professional conduct of all licensed security organizations.